| Author |
Topic |
 Wuff Wuff Deep Core Mining Inc.
|
Posted - 2009.11.04 12:30:00 - [ 1]
|
 JSC |
Posted - 2009.11.04 12:44:00 - [ 2]
Edited by: JSC on 04/11/2009 12:44:37 Quote:
Domain Name: getaclone.com Created on..............: 2009-10-02 Expires on..............: 2010-10-02
Administrative Contact: CCP HF Grandagardur 8 Reykjavik, 101 IS
Seems suspicious tbh, and why is it telling me I need to update my flash player? |
 Jagga Spikes Minmatar Tribal Liberation Force |
Posted - 2009.11.04 12:53:00 - [ 3]
nicely done |
 TimMc Gallente Trans-Solar Works Rooks and Kings |
Posted - 2009.11.04 12:56:00 - [ 4]
Pretty cool  |
 Kronossan Tread Alliance |
Posted - 2009.11.04 13:13:00 - [ 5]
Awesome |
 Serpents smile |
Posted - 2009.11.04 13:19:00 - [ 6]
Very cool!  |
 Gefex Genco Curatores Veritatis Alliance |
Posted - 2009.11.04 13:24:00 - [ 7]
I like the way the banner ad campaign that links to it is basically just a plain advert offering a clone. Very cool marketing. |
 Lui Kai Better Than You
|
Posted - 2009.11.04 13:38:00 - [ 8]
It's a highly cool site, so please don't take this the wrong way - but is it just meant to be an advert for eve? I couldn't see any other purpose to it. |
 Oriens Pars |
Posted - 2009.11.04 13:45:00 - [ 9]
I haven't clicked it, but....
Update flash player? Correct me if I'm wrong, but didn't CCP say that this latest rash of account hacks are the result of keylogger trojans from sites asking to update flash players? |
 baltec1 Antares Shipyards Phalanx Alliance |
Posted - 2009.11.04 13:52:00 - [ 10]
Originally by: Oriens Pars I haven't clicked it, but....
Update flash player? Correct me if I'm wrong, but didn't CCP say that this latest rash of account hacks are the result of keylogger trojans from sites asking to update flash players?
I aint touching it... |
 Zeek Muaka Caldari Antares Shipyards Phalanx Alliance |
Posted - 2009.11.04 13:54:00 - [ 11]
It's fine, you people actually just don't have an updated flash player. |
 Some Advisor |
Posted - 2009.11.04 13:56:00 - [ 12]
Originally by: JSC why is it telling me I need to update my flash player?
because you should update your flash player? |
 Serpents smile |
Posted - 2009.11.04 14:10:00 - [ 13]
ZOMG...  Lookie, say you want to figure out if you indeed need to upgrade your flash player, whatdoyoudo? You go to the source site -> adobe dot com -> products -> get adobe flash player. Once installed you go the awesome site linked in the OP and if it *then* still wants you to update, something *is* fissy. But rest assured this site is ok. |
 Wuff Wuff Deep Core Mining Inc.
|
Posted - 2009.11.04 14:42:00 - [ 14]
I just got around to reading the legal page: "Talents, like musical and artistic learnings, are non-transferrable, nor are they deemed particularly useful to the future of mankind." - Wuffles |
 Jarna Amarr Angelus Degeneris |
Posted - 2009.11.04 15:19:00 - [ 15]
Edited by: Jarna on 04/11/2009 15:21:23 I think you people definitely misunderstand this whole flash player update thing.
Flash Player doesn't update with an executable, it just updates; it's a plugin.
If you are asked to update your flash and then it tries to make you download an executable, then there is a problem.
I'm glad you people are scared of what can happen to you on the internet, but you might want to do a little more research because many people are overly paranoid.
I accessed the site and got no message to update flash. And that's pretty cool. I like it. |
 Akhmed TDT |
Posted - 2009.11.04 15:22:00 - [ 16]
Originally by: Jarna I think you people definitely misunderstand this whole flash player update thing.
Flash Player doesn't update with an executable, it just updates; it's a plugin.
If you are asked to update your flash and then it tries to make you download an executable, then there is a problem.
I'm glad you people are scared of what can happen to you on the internet, but you might want to do a little more research because many people are overly paranoid.
I accessed the site and got no message to update flash.
There are viruses that take over windows updates, web app updates, etc and point you to a redirected site that is just more viruses or updates for their DDoS attacks. I've had to clean one before and it wasn't pretty. But then again, if you had done your research, you would have known that ;) |
 Escoce Gallente Interstellar Tritanium United Trade Syndicate |
Posted - 2009.11.04 17:04:00 - [ 17]
If you are truly paranoid, and coming from an it security background, you should be. Then just go to adobe's website and upgrade your flash plug-in from there. |
 Lance Fighter Amarr |
Posted - 2009.11.04 17:09:00 - [ 18]
it didnt tell me to upgrade my flash player. Noobs. Also, pretty cool  told me I was an explorer, right on  |
 Dretzle Omega Caldari Caldari Navy Volunteer Task Force |
Posted - 2009.11.04 17:15:00 - [ 19]
It's just an Eve advert.
The exploring video looked even more boring than the industry video, imo. |
 GA Cypherous Gamers Asylum |
Posted - 2009.11.04 17:44:00 - [ 20]
Edited by: GA Cypherous on 04/11/2009 17:46:06 Looks legit didn't ask me to update my player and is using the same content distribution network CCP does :P
*edit stupid alt post*
*edit 2* Awesome site CCP looking good i like this marketing idea :) |
 Alexeph Stoekai Stoekai Corp
|
Posted - 2009.11.04 18:59:00 - [ 21]
Originally by: Lui Kai It's a highly cool site, so please don't take this the wrong way - but is it just meant to be an advert for eve? I couldn't see any other purpose to it.
In the marketing business, we call it a campaign site. |
 Jarna Amarr Angelus Degeneris |
Posted - 2009.11.04 19:06:00 - [ 22]
Originally by: Akhmed TDT
Originally by: Jarna I think you people definitely misunderstand this whole flash player update thing.
Flash Player doesn't update with an executable, it just updates; it's a plugin.
If you are asked to update your flash and then it tries to make you download an executable, then there is a problem.
I'm glad you people are scared of what can happen to you on the internet, but you might want to do a little more research because many people are overly paranoid.
I accessed the site and got no message to update flash.
There are viruses that take over windows updates, web app updates, etc and point you to a redirected site that is just more viruses or updates for their DDoS attacks. I've had to clean one before and it wasn't pretty.
But then again, if you had done your research, you would have known that ;)
Viruses, yes. We are talking about going to a website and it popping up an alert box that tells you you need a new version of Flash. Much different that what you have experienced and what CCP is warning against. |
 Bumblefck Kerensky Initiatives Beer and Smoke Federation |
Posted - 2009.11.04 19:12:00 - [ 23]
|
 Rhatar Khurin Minmatar Dead poets society The Laughing Men |
Posted - 2009.11.04 19:38:00 - [ 24]
Wooo! Nicely made!
I got Industry, so no surprises there. |
 Saunee Aspergillus Gallente The Scope
|
Posted - 2009.11.05 11:16:00 - [ 25]
submitting some love to ccp!! cool advertisement for the eve-game, really really like it. don't bother too much about your flashplayer being out of date, just update it.
- Saunee |
 Louis deGuerre Gallente The Rise of The Dragon Knights Void Alliance |
Posted - 2009.11.05 11:27:00 - [ 26]
I'm giving this site a 10/10 Would watch again, in fact already did so  Creator should be hired by CCP marketing right away. |
 Some Advisor |
Posted - 2009.11.05 11:39:00 - [ 27]
Originally by: Louis deGuerre Creator should be hired by CCP marketing right away.
why? isnt he ALREADY working for CCP and just did this one? |
 Cadde Gallente 221st Century Warfare
|
Posted - 2009.11.05 11:48:00 - [ 28]
I had to allow this site in my no-scripts therefore it must be a hack site!
/sarcasm
It's officially official. |
 Noun Verber Gallente |
Posted - 2009.11.05 13:51:00 - [ 29]
After watching it transfer data from ccp.something, i had to refresh it to get teh flash to work (didn't need an upgrade just bugged)
Take quiz: You are an explorer
My ingame profession: Explorer! Someone at CCP is stalking me! |
 Ku'Nari Skywall |
Posted - 2009.11.05 21:12:00 - [ 30]
Edited by: Ku''Nari Skywall on 05/11/2009 21:55:33Looks like an official CCP site and it's a great marketing idea. Getaclone.com whoisccpgames.comIf it's official, whois information is close but the addresses are not the same, they need to filter it off their warning page. Originally by: Bumblefck Get off your high horse buddy, and stop being so condescending. We're liable to start throwing ****bags at your (ingame) face at the first opportunity!
Well, at least Jarna's avatar looks like a grumpy old man. Maybe he's just playing a role.  |